Home » Upnexts » Cover Reveal: Champion by Marie Lu

Cover Reveal: Champion by Marie Lu

It’s Friday news again and you deserve something big today!

Drumroll please….

It’s the cover reveal for Legend’s third and last installment Champion!

It’s a little bit different from the theme Legend and Prodigy had on the cover having an eagle and The Republic sign which this time, portrays a rose on fire.

Hmm, I’m now thinking what does that mean.

Here’s a sneak peek of what Champion is all about:

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

Legend has come to an end and thus making a successful and complete series – I could imagine the happy and sad emotions we could have!

Anyway, Champion is set to be released on November 5 of this year and we should get our hands on it once it comes out! Freaking exciting!

ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: How does it feel to put a period on the series?
MARIE LU: It feels pretty surreal. On the one hand, I’m so relieved that I’ve actually managed to finish my very first series, and that I’ve been able to see my characters through to the end of their journeys. On the other hand, I feel like how parents must feel when they send their kid off to college. It’s a bittersweet mix.

How do you think your fans will feel when they finish reading? Anything we may be devastated about? Will there be any big deaths?
There are a couple of deaths. And possibly some things to be devastated about. What can I say, I’m a writer — I enjoy forcing pain and suffering on my characters! I can’t reveal much, but I will say that Champion is the only book in the trilogy where I cried while writing it. This is mostly due to having John Lennon’s “Imagine” on my Champion playlist, but still. I hope my readers will at least feel a sense of closure at the end.

Leave a Reply

