Home » Book Reviews » Book Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Book Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Slammed (Slammed, #1) by Colleen Hoover
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance, Drama
Short reaction: It will slam you with love, life, death, grief and happiness. I never thought I created a poem for this after reading it, it’s that effective!
Rating: 5 out of 5

Synopsis

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

My Review

Also seen on Goodreads.

Since my younger years, I’ve always been into short stories and poetry – reading and writing them. However it’s only after I read this good book that I’ve written my own poem again with such passion and emotions! Wow. See how Slammed did it to me:

Slammed, a performance by myself and written by myself, 19 April 2013

Here I am with my puffy eyes
Typing as I let all the memories dig in
As this one only book has slammed me in my face
To balance between heart and mind, life and death, grief and happiness

Here I am with my puffy eyes
Never thought I’d review a book through a poem I create
I never even knew about Poetry Slam until I read this one only book
That has slammed me in my face
To balance between heart and mind, life and death, grief and happiness

Here I am
Glad that my tears has now stopped from welling and dripping
Glad that I live life with my complete family of Mom, Dad, a brother, a sister and four family dogs
Glad that even if I’ve done a few things wrong and I hurt them, they’re still here for me loving me all along
Glad that I have them in good, comfortable life and health I’m always thanking God for

Here I am
Now wants to forget that I regret a lot of things that I did in the past
Things that I thought were all wrong because I broke the rules
Life has no rules, like Poetry Slam that has slammed me in the face
To balance between heart and mind, life and death, grief and happiness

Here I am
Wants to give honor to Avett Brothers for giving me such wisdom about 5 stages of loneliness
I never thought that I could learn from a band of great philosophers
And I swear, they just got me as a fan

Here I am
Thanking Ms. Colleen Hoover for doing such fantastic job
Of writing a book that will Slam everyone of us in the face
Whether or not we wanted romance or we’re a fan of poetry

This book has taught me so many things I can’t list
This book has slammed me in the face
To give emphasis to life and never forget to laugh everyday

Love of Characters

Layken – she’s strong and so easy to love. She trusts easily but she also hurts easily because of the grief she’s faced since her father died. I can’t deny how much I cried when she flash backed on her conversation with her Dad and the magic hair clip. This taught me that even a single simple thing can make a difference and that we shouldn’t ignore this magic along the way.

Will – love, love him! I consider him my first ever book boyfriend (drools)! The character he portrayed is somewhat similar to Lake because he also faced a lot of loss in life. And falling in love with Lake has given him more challenge to make it work so I cannot put all the as$ he acted against him because I understood his situation.

Layken and Will – I love their romance! Period. They might have been conditional with a lot of things to make their priorities work but it’s still good that they ended up so well like a fairy tale.

Kel – oh my God, this kid is so intelligent! This young character is unbelievably a teacher of small things straight to the point to go with life and even go backwards to reminisce the happy moments and laugh again. Such a great sibling.

Caulden – just like Kel, that’s why they became best friends. I love these kids’ characters!

Eddie – another strong personality we got here from a girl. She’s a foster child but she’s gone through life like it’s always the easy route. Great friend and a great slammer (poet).

Eddie and Gavin – need I say more? They’re also my favorite couple because they love unconditionally! 😀

Julia (Lake’s mom) – she made me cry a lot but those were tears of joy and acceptance. This character is so strong as well despite the challenges she also has within herself. Such a great parent.

So whew, that’s quite a mouthful but I can’t really make my fingers stop from tapping the keyboard LOL. I enjoyed this so much despite the puffy eyes!

Support the Author by buying the book

One thought on “Book Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: Upnexts: Revamped Covers For Anna and the French Kiss & Slammed Series! | Books And Anything Beautiful

Leave a Reply

