Home » Book Reviews » Book Review: The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

Book Review: The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

The Lying Game (The Lying Game, #1) by Sara Shepard
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Suspense
Short reaction: Full of lies and mysteries and miss popularity!
Rating: 4 out of 5

Synopsis

I had a life anyone would kill for.

Then someone did.

The worst part of being dead is that there’snothing left to live for. No more kisses. Nomore secrets. No more gossip. It’s enoughto kill a girl all over again. But I’m about toget something no one else does–an encoreperformance, thanks to Emma, the long-losttwin sister I never even got to meet.

Now Emma’s desperate to know whathappened to me. And the only way to figureit out is to be me–to slip into my old lifeand piece it all together. But can she laughat inside jokes with my best friends? Convincemy boyfriend she’s the girl he fell inlove with? Pretend to be a happy, carefreedaughter when she hugs my parents goodnight? And can she keep up the charade, even after she realizes my murderer iswatching her every move?

From Sara Shepard, the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars books, comes a riveting new series about secrets, lies, andkiller consequences.

Let the lying game begin.

My Review

Also seen on Goodreads.

I’ve been a fan of Pretty Little Liars TV series after Season 1 ended but I’ve never read its series yet. And then I’ve joined this challenge called Lost Souls in Never Too Old For YA Books and discovered The Lying Game. There are many rants that PLL is better than this series but I just don’t care and so I picked this one out! Here’s my say:

The First Lie
A secret boyfriend…
A stolen boyfriend…
A missing friend…
A silver locket…
A sisters’ quarrel…
A long-lost twin…
Someone’s death.

To lie and be lied (and bullied) is never fun so in short, this whole lying game where Sutton, Charlotte and Madeline is, is what makes them popular but hated and backstabbed in gossips all along wherever they go. Almost all the too weird, too beautiful, too handsome, too confident, too geeky, too sexy, too naughty, too quiet, too shy people have been pranked already and these girls won’t get tired of it because according to their L rules, each of them gains a point whenever they call a prank better than the other and that is of course, a prank should always be fun and fabulous. But then we meet Emma, Sutton’s long-lost identical twin who suddenly play Sutton’s role to break the mystery going on while Sutton’s gone.

“Sutton’s dead,” says the note and Emma has to play her role or else she’ll be dead too but you know what, I love Emma more than Sutton because she’s wiser and she knows how to play the right way. It’s been tough for her to be passed from one foster home to another after being left by her biological mother Becky but she’s got both soft and tough heart to let her fight back despite always imagining about her Mom Star, Dad Star, Emma Star and Boyfriend Star to come and meet her. 😥 It’s an advantage on the other hand to Emma because she’s stronger to face this challenge to try to find her twin and the murderer.

Love of Characters

Sutton – I feel sorry for her (I always do LOL). She’s popular but she’s also always the target for people to give her lesson. In this writing, Sutton is narrating the story while she watches Emma connect the dots. Everything is in Sutton’s POV and Emma’s been described in third person which is good. She’s practically a lost soul here and I find it funny when she tries to remember everything that happened when she’s still alive. I pity Sutton that in the past, she can’t leave her L group because she’s adopted and she has no friends but them since Laurel hated her for getting Thayer. If only she used her brain to decide to change and apologize to all the people they’ve pranked but it’s too late.

Ethan – I actually like this mysterious guy better than Garrett. He seems weird that he doesn’t talk much to people and mostly does things alone but maybe I really have a thing for mysterious guys because I love discovering what they’re into and in saying that, Ethan’s always been nice to Sutton even if he knows her stuff. He’s deep!

Garrett – This guy’s sweet and loving but if Thayer’s here, he’ll be the last one I’ll pick. However, Sutton loved him so much because she knew he’s kinda damaged from his past love life and I appreciate that. Good thing Emma didn’t surrender herself to him!

Support the Author by buying the book

Leave a Reply

