Home » Book Reviews » Book Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Book Review: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1) by Susan Ee
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia, Angels
Short reaction: Fantastic dystopian angel novel between war of fallen angels and archangels plus a remarkable heroine!
Rating: 5 out of 5

Synopsis

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

My Review

Also seen on Goodreads.

Another first! This time, my eyes glanced over this growing genre in the paranormal and fantasy worlds which are with warrior angels, fallen angels and guardian angels. Angelfall, another novel set in a dystopian setting is about the war between fallen angels and warrior angels and humans. This time, angels are owning everything that man has and so they’re destroying their shelter, their food and their lives. In saying that, that’s also the reason why I decided to read this because who doesn’t want to see angels right in front of your eyes?. My two cents:

When I’m still a few months old baby, my parents told me that I’ve always had my guardian angel. It’s also the reason why I didn’t get injured after falling from the bed when I rolled over and the moment they came back to the room, they saw me sleeping soundly on the carpet.

I do believe in angels until now and maybe it’s also because I’m born a Catholic and well, it’s safe to think anyway that there’s God’s angel watching over you aside from Him. I’m not even afraid of them. I’ve heard numerous times about archangel Gabriel delivering the Message that the Son of God is coming and it’s still as magical to my ears. And that’s how I also got intrigued by the fact that one of the archangels, Raphael is the warrior starring in Angelfall.

WOW.

This novel isn’t your archangel-from-portrait-paintings type. We’re talking about Apocalypse, or as Penryn, the skinny, teenage heroine here called the World After. It’s how fallen angels have come to destroy the world and humans in the planet especially after political crises the archangel Gabriel’s death has impacted. The only thing that I imagined right from the angel wars was the then-forbidden-angel-that-became-the-devil Lucifer but gladly, the angels looked and acted better than that. How Raffe fought from the giant Beliel got me so addicted I felt like watching a mythological film that’s fast forwarded into years from now.

How angels are described are so crystal-clear I can almost see them right before my eyes like I’m staring at a naked human-like statue. The way Penryn nicknamed them helped a lot too (for my memory to keep up) while giving the angels better pictures. On the other hand, it’s good to know there are no other stuff aside from angels, their angel-looking scorpions and the thought of nephilims (or offsprings from an angel/demigod and mortal). I maybe will find it awkward if I see zombies lurking brought about by cannibalism-from-hunger and probably disease but gladly, this is serious angel novel.

Love of Characters

It’s so wonderful that I will never ever forget Raffe’s companionship with Penryn. The way he protected her against the vicious gangs hungry for food and shelter and even the angel enemies. The way he KISSED her so passionate and deep I almost thought he’ll transform into human LOL. The way he carried her while she’s wounded and half-unconscious. He’s just the perfect guardian angel anyone should have! 🙂

Penryn, oh Penryn! She’s another young kickass heroine topping the ranks! She fights fearlessly she doesn’t even know if she’ll live the fight with the enormous creation of God, the “low demons” or even the other humans just eager to survive. I loved the way she thought about the safety of her mother and little sister Paige during the encounters. I even loved her more when she started to care about Raffe and her wanting more of his warmth and protection.

The care Penryn and Raffe showed to each other though did not indicate a full-blown romance so don’t expect Angelfall to be a love story. I actually found it more interesting like this as it’s focused on human survival and wars between the angels and demon whispers.

Overall, this novel has got me wanting for more because of the ending. It definitely screamed at me making me think what happens next!

Support the Author by buying the book

Leave a Reply

