Home » Book Reviews » Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss, #2) by Stephanie Perkins
Genres: Young Adult, Chick-Lit, Realistic Fiction
Short reaction: Cute and colorful love story that will make you smile!
Rating: 4 out of 5

Heya Stephanie Perkins fans! Here’s her second book from Anna and the French Kiss series (I actually read this first because I thought it was a standalone previously LOL). But moving on, this is another cute story of teenagers who happen to be neighbors. Then there starts an unexpected love story between Lola and Cricket.

Synopsis

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit–more sparkly, more fun, more wild–the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket–a gifted inventor–steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

My Review

Also seen on Goodreads.

Note: This actually isn’t a book review but just a reaction of what I felt after reading this book and also what I learned from it:

A cute, fun, emotion-packed teen flick. Honestly I would like to share my opinion on how I felt and got my shoes into the story and not how I analyzed it..well at first I thought this was not for me during the first few pages but as I continued, this has opened the memories of first love, kiss and the feeling of loving a friend more than friend I never thought I could ever get teary eyes from as I reminisced. Lola and Cricket made me feel deeper about these things that happened before college life of having crush with someone almost your age that brought me back to how I fell in love for the first time that was awfully wonderful. This book felt ‘young’ but the way it touched me is magical like the moon and stars. Loved it.

Love of Characters

Lola – such a creative chic! I idolize her for having a different sense of fashion. Bringing color, glitter, shine to any object, fabric, etc is a unique talent especially because she can make any clothing look dazzling and expensive even if it’s only made of a ton of trinkets and slices of fabric. While some may find it funny that she always wears colorful wigs, I don’t find it weird because she’s just showing what her real personality is and with that, she’s a girl of color!

Cricket – loved the way he accepted and supported Lola all along despite his twin hating Lola. Like Lola, Cricket has got a talent he on the other hand inherited from his great grandfather Alexander Grahambell. At first I caught myself laughing over this – such a genius to think of it Ms. Perkins! Loved the way Cricket showed Lola how beautiful she is as the moon and stars. So cute yet so lovely.

Support the Author by buying the book

One thought on “Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins | Books Beauty and What Not with Joanna

Leave a Reply

